On Louise

Louise Rennison died on Monday.

I feel like I should try and make this post funny to honour her, but I’m too sad.

Louise Rennison wrote the Georgia Nicholson books, which were honestly the books of my teens. Georgia and the Ace Gang’s ridiculous adventures brightened my days and made me laugh. Really laugh. It was when I read Louise Rennison’s books that I realised the painfully embarrassing (and totally normal) real life I was living could actually be… funny. The time Georgia shaved off her own eyebrows and had to stay home from school for a week until they grew back, and the boys she kissed who turned out pretty gross made all the stupid shit I had done that day feel less like the sort of thing I should never leave the house again over.

Louise Rennison made it so that I could lean into the silliest parts of myself. Those things that seemed so mortifying before kind of got… less. Because Georgia had done it too. And worse.

The Ace Gang taught me that my lady friends are the most important people in my life. They are the ones who hang around for the successes and the embarrassments. They taught me that you should always dance when the opportunity presents itself. While wearing Viking helmets, preferably.

I got to meet Louise a few years ago at a book signing. She was funny and kind, and even though I was at the back of a queue that must have been getting on for a hundred people long, she really took her time talking to me about my life and she told me she liked my dress. She was wonderful.

Her loss is very sad.

Author: Lydia Tewkesbury

24. Loves a good story.

7 thoughts on “On Louise”

  1. Such sad, heartbreaking news. I loved Georgia and her stories. I finally got all the books in that series of the same cover and they look fabulous on my shelf. I have such great memories of reading about Georgia with my friends and for that I will always be grateful for Louise ❤

    Like

  2. Oh my gosh I loved those Georgia Nicholson books! I’d even say they contributed to my awareness and growth as a teen. I’m so sad to hear this news… how terribly heartbreaking. Thanks for the post though Lydia, otherwise I would have been ignorant of the news. Now I want to reread her series. 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

