Ten Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed

I haven’t done one of these in forever.

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week we’re all considering some books that we feel differently about as time has passed. That includes books you hate, books you realised later you were perhaps too hard on or that book you’ve decided to take it to the next level with.

Twilight – Stephanie Meyer

Twilightbook

I hate these books. However when I first read them when I was fifteen, I thought they were amazing. As an adult I find it problematic that such abusive and manipulative relationships are represented as the height of all romance to young girls. My hope is that the further we get from these movies and Rob and Kristen’s relationship, the less people will care that this story even exists.

Anna and The French Kiss – Stephanie Perkins

anna and the french kiss

 

 

 

 

 

 

My love for this book has been somewhat altered by my hatred of Isla and the Happily Ever After. It’s a shame.

Everything Is Illuminated – Jonathan Safran Foer

illuminated

The first time I read this book I was quite young, and when I got to the end my prevailing feeling was …. Huh?  A few years later I came back to it after having my mind blown by Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close and realised that it is wonderful in its weirdness.

It’s Kind of a Funny Story – Ned Vizzini

funystory

I only recently found out about Ned Vizzini’s suicide when I was considering revisiting this brilliant book. For now though, it makes me too sad.

The Princess Diaries series – Meg Cabot

the princess diaries xi

As I have mentioned many times, I am (very slowly) rereading this series. It’s just so good. There are a lot of jokes in there for adults that I didn’t pick up when I was fourteen. They relate to teenage life even as they satirise it.

The works of Louise Rennison

51T9B8933QL

Louise Rennison recently died. I don’t doubt that I will read and love her work again in the future, but for now, I need to just feel sad about her for a while.

Sylvia Plath

sylvia

For a long time, I had only resentment for Sylvia Plath. I had study her work in school, which is the best way to make a kid hate a writer. As I got older I realised she was simply a victim in my extended anti-poetry phase.

A Thousand Pieces of You – Claudia Gray

a thousand pieces of you

This is one of the many series that I started and felt nothing special about. The more time passes, the more I know I’m never going to read the sequel, no matter how pretty the cover looks.

Virginia Woolf

9780241956793

I had to read Mrs Dalloway for a class in my first year of university. It was my first experience of having slightly lukewarm feelings toward a book until I studied it and really learned what it was doing. I really love how she crafted her writing style to counteract what she perceived to be the failings of realist fiction. She’s wrote an essay about it that you can read here. I really recommend it.

Bossypants – Tina Fey

bossypants

I got the audiobook of this for free when I was seventeen. It was probably the first book I read that explicitly described itself as feminist. Memoirs are funny to re-read over the years because you find yourself meeting the author at different life stages. Reading about Tina’s horrible job at the YMCA means something very different to me now than it did when I was in school.

 

 

Author: Lydia Tewkesbury

25. Loves a good story.

9 thoughts on “Ten Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed”

  1. Pingback: May Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

