Totally Didn’t… Book Tag

Thanks Jenna @ Reading with Jenna for tagging me!

Totally didn’t… need sequels

I feel this way about a lot of books, as I am highly susceptible to YA series burnout. A series is generally where most of the tropes that I get so sick of in YA fiction are floating around, so these days I largely stick to standalones. It takes a very compelling protagonist to tempt me into reading book two.*

If you too are experiencing the symptoms of YA series burnout (rolling eyes, involuntary sighing and the intense and almost irresistible urge to fling paperbacks from windows), I recommend the following:

More Than This – Patrick Ness

 61Iu7+pTRlL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_ 

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian – Sherman Alexie

693208

Just Listen – Sarah Dessen

justlisten

Totally didn’t… need more than one point of view

Lair of Dreams, by Libba Bray, the second book in the Diviners series. I actually really like that this series comes from multiple viewpoints, but with the introduction of new characters in the sequel, I felt the focus moved around a little too much. I will talk more about feelings on Lair of Dreams in my review, coming tomorrow.

Totally didn’t… need to change the cover art half way through a series

Any time a publisher does this.

giphy (1)

Totally didn’t… need a love triangle

My feelings about love triangles are similar to my feelings about series. I’m not a massive fan. I get tired of the whole thing really quickly and usually end up disliking the object of the triangle. Rather than rooting for a particular person, I usually want both of them to move on to someone more decisive.

vd-season-2-damon-elena-stefan-o

I think this makes my point nicely.

Totally didn’t… deserve my time

Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance. Trust me on this one.

I tag… anyone who feels like it!

*For anyone whose interested, series I am currently reading include:

Shades of London – Maureen Johnson

The Diviners – Libba Bray

The Grisha Trilogy – Leigh Bardugo (I just started Six of Crows this morning!)

Author: Lydia Tewkesbury

27. Loves a good story.

11 thoughts on “Totally Didn’t… Book Tag”

  1. Cover changes halfway through are awful but I COMPLETELY agree about sequels!
    Even though I mostly blog about sequels, not all books need sequels OR need the number of sequels that are published. The Crossfire Series definitely could have been a trilogy and not 5 books in length…ugh

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know! It’s so frustrating when an idea you really like is taken beyond the point of interesting. I can imagine blogging about series would be difficult sometimes. I suppose it’s mainly because they are so influenced by trend, but I would imagine finding something truly original is much harder. That said, when you do, it’s awesome. I’m reading Six of Crows at the moment, Leigh Bardugo’s next book set in the Grisha world and I am totally in love with it! Getting to explore more of that world is making me so happy.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I read a lot of series naturally–I get addicted to seeing everything unfold and watching the characters to develop over time. Not to say that you can’t get that with standalone novels but I think there is a complexity to a story that has very instalments rather than one. And you’re right, it’s definitely influenced by trend. High fantasy is really popular right now and it has become a personal favourite for me…just like dystopian novels were a few years ago.

        I’m super excited to read Six of Crows. I have it out from the library right now and I can’t wait to dive in! I’ve heard fantastic things. I didn’t particularly enjoy the main characters in the Grisha Trilogy but I loved the world so I can’t wait to explore a different story within it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment