January Wrap-Up

It’s that time again. I hope everybody is defeating the January blues.

February finds me unemployed again but oddly optimistic as I hunt for my fifth job in the past six months.

januarywrapup

This month I reviewed:

P.S. I Still Love You – Jenny Han

Feelings: A light contemporary that takes on some heavy themes. It’s sneaky feminism at its best.

Winter – Marissa Meyer

Feelings: Marry me, Thorne?

Americanah – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Feelings: Perfection, basically.

How To Say I Love You Out Loud – Karole Cozzo

Feelings: A book about autism and siblings that I actually liked. I wish this had been out when I was in my teens.

You Don’t Have To Like Me: Essays on Growing Up, Speaking Out and Finding Feminism – Alida Nugent

Feelings: I can see this one leading to many a feminist awakening.

Furiously Happy – Jenny Lawson

Feelings: It is possible to laugh your way through the darkness.

I also read:

Mosquitoland – David Arnold

Vivian Versus America – Katie Coyle

Things of the Month:

‘So sure, 2015 was “great” for women. But that statement is only true if 2015 marks the last year in which things can be so very bad. If this year somehow magically marks the end of women being widely shut out of cultural production, paid significantly less than their peers, and rarely given the chance of financial backing to create mainstream art without male interventions in the process, then I will feel ready to celebrate 2015.’

https://medium.com/matter/pay-women-the-money-they-need-to-make-the-culture-e0d80c8cda70#.7t9m8swou

How To Get Away With Murder

tumblr_nckuegogRo1r8jjn6o1_500

Shonda Rhimes’ commencement speech:

Author: Lydia Tewkesbury

27. Loves a good story.

Leave a comment